This programme is funded and supported by the Central Otago District Council and Central Otago REAP.  Enviroschools is a national facilitated programme which involves a commitment from the whole school and school community to Enviro principles.
The aim is to foster a generation of people who instinctively think and act sustainably.

Sustainability has many different interpretations.

To us it means living in a country where people work with positive energy to connect with each other, their cultural identity and their land, to create a healthier, peaceful, more equitable society.
It means the regeneration of resilient, connected communities in which people care for each other and the environment.
It means valuing indigenous knowledge and celebrating diversity so that everyone thrives.
We believe this can be achieved if we learn together in empowering and action oriented ways.

The Enviroschools Programme fosters in students and school staff a sense of place, connection with, and action in, the environment – both natural and built.   Aspects of the programme fit perfectly with celebrating and protecting the uniqueness of the Central Otago region. It involves children in a lot of ‘hands on’ experiences and actions where they can make a difference to their own environments.

The programmes run by the Toimata Foundation (Enviroschools, Te Aho Tu Roa, Youth and Community) aim to empower and enable individuals, families and schools to work together to create healthy, peaceful and sustainable communities.  Building strong connections and trusting relationships is at the heart of this, as is fostering a culture of creativity and sharing.

Guilding Principles:
Empowered Students, Maori Perspective, Sustainable Communities, Learning for Sustainability, Diversity of People and Cultures.

Key Areas:
4Ps: People and Participation, Place, Programmes, Practices

Central Otago Enviroschools are: Tarras School, Cromwell Primary, Goldfields Primary, Clyde School, The Terrace, Alexandra Primary, St Gerards, Poolburn School, Roxburgh Area School, Millers Flat School and the Maniototo Area School.

Print Friendly